ATHB130317: Hike, Bike, Kayak Thailand- March 17

A selection of threads from the Departure Lounge. These trips have already departed.

Moderators: sinecure, TravelFun, ballu, jimshu, JaliscoJudy

ATHB130317: Hike, Bike, Kayak Thailand- March 17

Postby hoppmegg » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:17 pm

Hi there,

I'm heading out on March 17th for the 'Hike, Bike, Kayak' trip to Thailand. I'm 28 and coming from NYC. This will be my first time in SE Asia, and I would love to connect with other going on this trip. I have a few questions about packing, etc., and it would also be fun to know who else is going!

Let me know if you're on this trip as well- looking forward to speaking with you!

Cheers,
Meggie
hoppmegg
User Rank: Daytripper

Re: ATHB130317: Hike, Bike, Kayak Thailand- March 17

Postby kimpeter » Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:54 am

Hi Meggie:
I will be joining this adventure with you. My name is Kim, I am coming from Minnesota, I am 56 and this is my first time in Asia. I am afraid I cannot be of much help in the packing department as I am in the same boat as you. I look forward to meeting you and having a fabulous trip!!!
kimpeter

Postby daviduk » Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:17 pm

Hi Kim and Maggie,
I'm Dave from the UK and I'm also on this trip. There is some useful information on the G Adventures website:
http://www.gadventures.com/trips/thaila ... resources/
I suggest looking at the trip details pdf - scroll down to CHECKLIST. Does this help?
David
daviduk

Postby hoppmegg » Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:21 pm

Thanks Dave! Yeah, I definitely saw that. I was more thinking specifically like
-- What type of warm clothes? Like a sweatshirt of just long sleeve shirt?
-- For hiking, will regular running shoes work? Or do we need legit hiking shoes.

Maybe I'm overthinking, but I've never been to Asia before and I'm not sure how hot/cold/muddy, etc. it will be.

In either way, look forward to meeting you both on the trip!

Meggie
hoppmegg

Postby kimpeter » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:31 pm

Hi Dave: