who needs a guidebook?

Discuss volunteering opportunities or how you can help to ensure that tourism in developing countries remains a positive experience for everyone.

Moderators: sinecure, TravelFun, ballu, jimshu, JaliscoJudy, richardGS

who needs a guidebook?

Postby Verena » Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:15 am

Hello all,

my name is Verena Leitner and I am a postgraduate Tourism Management student at the University of Derby/Buxton. For my final year dissertation, I am writing about how important it is to be informed about the culture, lifestyle, ideology of a foreign destination, before going on holiday there. And how the information written in a guidebook can prevent, respectively minimise culture shock and smooth down the relationship between hosts and guests.

My questions therefore are the following:

-do you inform yourself before going on holidays? Why yes/not?
-Are you using guidebooks for the information you need? Why yes/no?
-Can the guidebook make the travel experience easier for the tourists? Why?

I am happy for any kind of answeres and discussions. It will be very helpful for me.

Thank you all very much!!
Verena
User Rank: Daytripper

Postby francine_16 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:15 am

I definetly use guidebooks before I go on holidays. I like to check and see the hotel that is the joining hotel for the trip in the guidebook and see what is nearby to do because I usually get to the country the day before the tour starts. The biggest reason I like the guidebooks to help pick out restaurants in the cities that I will be travelling through. On my last trip to Vietnam there was a lot of time spent on a bus and we would sit with our guidebooks and decide where we were going to eat when arriving in the next city. Also, the maps are helpful for walking tours of the cities.
francine_16
User Rank: World Wanderer

Re: who needs a guidebook?

Postby colduphere » Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:18 pm

My questions therefore are the following: