To chase away your in between boredom blues!

Share your travel stories, photos and blog links here.

Moderators: sinecure, TravelFun, ballu, jimshu, JaliscoJudy

To chase away your in between boredom blues!

Postby jimshu » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:35 pm

Kay and I have been travelling for many years, and have many wonderful memories, some amazing adventures ,and stories to tell.Someone once said I should write them down.And when you're sitting around a campfire in the middle of the Namib Desert, ,chatting with a local guy, who opens up and talks of things he experienced when a young man, as a guerilla freedom fighter in then South West Africa,and says to you-
"I have never talked about this with anyone before." it leaves a mark.A deep mark, that I was so privileged to become his confidant.And I asked him to write his stories down, because they should be told.
And it was then I realised that if you don't talk about those events, or write them down, they die with you.And that some stories should never die, they are so valuable, so precious, because they're unique.If we lose them we can never regain them.

Kay and I are avid readers of every travel story we can find.Our local library is raided for non-fiction travel books.There's a pile of books at home right now.I guess other library users must get pretty frustrated with our library's seemingly sparse selection!
These books are other people's stories.Other people's experiences.They make our world so colorful and more vibrant ,because they wrote about their experiences,enlightening us to places we dream about, but may never see.