Bartering

Share traveling tips with other travellers.

Moderators: sinecure, TravelFun, ballu, jimshu, JaliscoJudy

Bartering

Postby em_g008 » Fri May 15, 2009 10:11 pm

Anybody have any tips for bartering in the local markets? I've never done it before, and am a bit nervous, and will probably get ripped off more than once I imagine! :wink:

One question: how do you barter if you don't speak the local language and they don't speak English? And how would you understand the prices?
em_g008
User Rank: Nomad

Re: Bartering

Postby bluesforshoes » Fri May 15, 2009 11:28 pm

A great aid in bartering is a simple calculator. They can put in an amount, you can put in your amount, and so on. This has gotten me through a lot of situations.

And yes, you may be cheated a few times (I was in Peru but it was Christmas day, so I let it go), and you may encounter some aggressive vendors. In Lhasa I was suckered in by a fellow sitting in the middle of the road (stalls were on either side of the street) and he reached out to shake my hand. Next thing I know I have three people holding me in place while I bartered for a bowl that I didn't know that I wanted. The amazing thing is that he never let go of my hand the whole time and I ended up with two bowls and a bracelet for half of the original asking price of the single bowl. Don't know if it was a good deal, but it's certainly a good story. :)

-Jeremy G.
My modest travel site: http://www.jgtravels.net
bluesforshoes
User Rank: Adventurer

Postby travelling_on » Fri May 15, 2009 11:58 pm

You really dont have to be concerned because we have found that anywhere from Africa to South America and around the world, even if the locals dont speak English, they know how much to ask for in both their currency and US dollars...you wont have a problem.
travelling_on

Postby torontorox » Sat May 16, 2009 4:58 am