Kilimanjaro: Which Route To Take.

Immerse yourself in the rich, cultural tapestry that makes this continent so vibrant and colourful. Experience the natural highlights and get face to face with the real Africa.

Moderators: sinecure, TravelFun, ballu, jimshu, JaliscoJudy

Kilimanjaro: Which Route To Take.

Postby shooker » Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:53 pm

Hey everyone,

Just curious as to which route is the best route for the may-sept months of the year (machame, marangu, rongai etc). I am physically fit but not an olympian by any means, so unless the route is above intense it wouldn't discourage me... probably only challenge me actually.

Any Advise would be much appreciated!
shooker
User Rank: Daytripper

Re: Kilimanjaro: Which Route To Take.

Postby jasonatl » Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:39 am

I did the Machame route in September and didn't find it a problem. I'm a software developer with the typical fat belly of a cubicle dweller so I'm not in the best shape. Hiking all day was exhausting but not intolerable. The real challenge was dealing with altitude. Of our group of seven, only one person failed to summit. She is a medical doctor who does triathlons and was in much better condition than me. Sadly the mountain gods did not smile on her. You just never know who is going to get the worst of altitude sickness.

If you can afford to do an nine day trip instead of a eight day trip, I think it is worth the extra expense. We did the seven day trip but I suspect that the extra day of rest before the summit would have made the difference for the one member of our expedition who didn't make it. And for those of us who did make it, I'm sure we would have been happier.

Best wishes for your climb. It'll be quite a task but a rewarding one when all is done!
jasonatl
User Rank: Traveller

Postby mytwoleftfeet » Tue Dec 27, 2011 3:13 am

Hi there,